Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Great value Unlimited Broadband from an award winning provider  


Caithness Amateur Sevens Football League : New Season

Submitted by Ian Nicol

3rd September 2002

After the recent meeting held in the St Clair it has emerged that 13 teams will contest this seasons RMC sevens league.

The major talking point is the absence of Thurso Pentland one of the original teams to join the league.

No representative turned up at the meeting and no one has called a committee member to express interest.

The 13 teams who are taking part are:

Ashes, Thurso Thistle, Acks, Castletown, Dounreay Workshops, Sharks, Top Joes, John O'Groats, RWE NUKEM, Dynamo T.J.'s, Arctic Thistle, Young Guns and Strokes FC.

With 13 teams it has been agreed to play Thursday & Monday for the first four weeks to avoid a fixture congestion at the end of the league. It also means that each team will have 2 "rest" days when they do not have a fixture.

The opening fixtures on Thursday 12th September show last seasons champs Ashes kick off their defence of the title against league newcomers Dynamo T.J.'s RWE NUKEM have been thrown in at the deep end with a fixture against Acks while Young Guns face other newcomers Arctic Thistle. Workshops play Castletown in what is arguably the game of the night while Thurso ThistleThistle take on Sharks, John O'Groats face Top Joes and Strokes FC have a free week.

Thursday 12th September

6 o'clock kick off

Ashes v Dynamo T.J.'s
Young Guns v Arctic Thistle

7 o'clock kick off

Workshops v Castletown

8 o'clock kick off

John O'Groats v Top Joes
Thurso Thistle v Sharks

Free week Strokes FC

[Printer Friendly Version]