Caithness Map :: Links to Site Map Great value Unlimited Broadband from an award winning provider  


Highland baton bearers named for Commonwealth Games

12th June 2014

The Glasgow 2014 team have announced the names of the 109 batonbearers who will take part when the Queens Baton Relay comes to the Highlands next month.

On Friday 4 July 10 baton bearers will take the baton through Aviemore as it makes it's way to Perth. A few days later the baton will be back in the Highland as it travels from Ullapool to Lairg and Thurso on Wednesday 9 July with the help of 24 batonbearers.

The Baton's full day and night in the Highlands starts on Friday 11 July when it arrives at John O' Groats and makes its way to the evening celebration in Dingwall with visits to Wick, Brora, Golspie, Tain and Alness. 11 batonbearers will carry it down Dingwall High Street and over to Jubilee Park where it's arrival on the stage at 7pm will be the highlight to the free Highland celebration event which starts in the park at 5pm.

A further 53 batonbearers will take part on Saturday 12 July as the baton makes its way from Inverness Castle to Fort William with visits to Drumnadrochit, Fort Augustus and Spean Bridge.

Convenor of The Highland Council, Councillor Jimmy Gray is looking forward to welcoming the baton to the Highlands. He said: " It has not been easy to get as much as possible into the allotted time for Highland but It's great that we have over 100 batonbearers, including a pupil from every secondary school in the communities the relay visits, lined up to take part.

"We've worked very hard with the organisers to send the baton to as many communities across the Highlands as possible and I am sure the friends and families of the batonbearers are looking forward to showing their support by coming to cheer them on. I was fortunate enough to be on the selection committee and was hugely impressed with the standard of nominations. I have no doubt all the batonbearers will do us proud"

The baton will arrive at Thurso on Wednesday, July 9 at 2.30pm before leaving for Orkney and arriving back in Caithness on Friday, July 11 when it will travel to John O'Groats at 8:30am and Wick at 10am.

Baton bearers in Thurso on Wednesday, 9th July
Moira McBeath
James Macleod
Catriona Kennedy
Cathol Steven
Valerie Calder
Kerry Trueman
Gillian Allan
Malcolm Clasper
Michael Stone
Evan Oliphant

Baton bearers in Wick on Friday, 11th July
Alison Henderson
Alan Johnston
Kenneth Cormack
Laura Henderson
James Henderson
Cameron Reid
Owen Harrold
Kirsty Mackay
John Paul

Baton places in Highland
Friday 4th July
09.30 Aviemore

Wednesday 9th July
11.30 Lairg
14.30 Thurso

Friday 11 July
08.45 John O Groats
10.00 Wick
13.00 Brora
14.50 Golspie
16.20 Tain
17.05 Alness
18.15 Dingwall

With an evening celebratory event at Jubilee Park, Dingwall 5pm - 7.30pm. Baton on stage 7pm

Saturday 12 July
08.00 Inverness
10.30 Drumnadrochit
12.00 Fort Augustus
13.40 Spean Bridge
16.00 Fort William

[Printer Friendly Version]